Satish Shrestha (सतिश श्रेष्ठ )

In The Quest Of…

$16 Short

Posted by Satish Shrestha on June 8, 2011


Catching a megabus at 1:30 in the morning from penn station NYC, I make it to Boston at 5:30 am. As soon as I walk out of South Station, a lady, probably in her late 20s, runs into me. She has an interesting story to share that early in the morning. With no introduction or whatsoever, she iterates her story as fast as she can. She tells me she is a good person not a “scumbag” and have been walking around seeking help since the evening of the previous day. She tells me she is 16 dollars short to board a bus to Burlington, Vermont. In a rather sympathetic manner, I tell her I will go buy her a ticket but won’t give her any cash. If her story is true and if she really needs help, there is no reason for me to not help her unless I actually I didn’t have $16 myself. Her expression, her story all appear fake to me and the fact that she can only accept cash, not a ticket, confirms my conjecture. I tell her once again that i wouldn’t mind buying her a ticket. She refuses my offer and I walk my way. The morning of my last day in Boston!

Leave a Reply

 
