Satish Shrestha (सतिश श्रेष्ठ )

In The Quest Of…

Jogi Travelexperince: Day 3 (Ski Utah!)

Posted by Satish Shrestha on March 13, 2011


The started out in a rush. I’d set the alarm to go off at 2:30 in the morning but we didn’t notice the alarm at all. When I woke up, it was already 3:40 AM. So, we packed everything up in a jiffy and left Driggs. After about four and half hours we arrived Salt Lake City, a huge city surrounded by beautiful mountains. The plan was to ski at Alta, and we did so. The weather was simply gorgeous. We were told that it was awful yesterday with ton of clouds and snow which worsened the visibility in the mountain. Fortunately, weather today was in our favor. There was barely any cloud in the sky and the sun was shining as best as it could. We started out with a quick black diamond run. The snow at the top was powdery, thus I was rather slow. I am still not quite good at skiing downhill on a powdery slopes, specially in a mountain like Alta, which is famous for its steep runs. Alta is a very modern ski resort that applies state-of-the art technology. Unlike in other ski resorts, Alta’s ticket has a radioactive barcode that is automatically detected in each gate. Thus, one doesn’t have to display a ticket entire time. The chair lifts are also fancier in that the loading dock is automatically moving forward like as escalator. In addition to that, it is a popular heli-ski spot. Because not all the mountains in the resort are accessible by chair lifts, pro-skiers chose to heli-ski. Another cool fact about Alta is that snowboarders are now welcome there!

As the day matured, I started skiing rather harder runs. I still tend to lean backwards, which makes me a bad skier. However, I am gaining more confidence on harder runs like black diamonds. I tried hiking up a near by mountain that was not accessible by lift and ski down that steep powdery hill. The snow was at least 2 ft deep and it must have been over 60 degrees steep. It was a disaster. I stumbled pretty bad and my skis got buried in the snow. I had to work pretty hard to stand back on my skis. Though it was extremely difficult, it did give me some new experience. At the end of the run, I was glad I made it to the base in one piece!

The restaurant in the base was pretty funky, though very classy. Mark had a pint of Polygamy Porter and we were laughing at our idea of approaching a girl with that bear as a punch line. I always thought it was bit of an exaggeration, but i was wrong. Salt Lake City seems to be immensely influenced by the Mormons. Billboards about church of the latter day saints are pretty much every where. I have an impression that most people here are very religious.

At the end of the day I realised that I had lost my camera. I was as pissed as Eric Cartman (not quite). We’ll going back to Alta and Snowbird tomororow to ski again. I hope I will find it in lost and found section tomorrow.  ☮

Fun day at Alta

Leave a Reply

 
