Satish Shrestha (सतिश श्रेष्ठ )

In The Quest Of…

Travelog

Posted by Satish Shrestha on July 8, 2009


desktopThough not a very frequent traveler, I love to get away from the city once in a while. This is my attempt to journal at least few words about my experience.

My first hiking experience dates back to 1992 when I was four and half years old. It was a family trip to Manakamana, a hindu temple situated on a mountain top in Gorakha district, Nepal. Actually, I had been there earlier when I was just 2 and half years old. I don’t consider that a hiking trip since I did not walk at all. My father carried me on his back in a basket made of bamboo (Doko, see picture). There are several little hills in and around Kathmandu thence one usually has to make a short hike every once in a while. One of the most memorable hiking experience of my life dates back to 1999 when I was almost fifteen. Starting from Thankot, southwest of Kathmandu valley , we hiked for around 8 hours and spent a night at my friend’s village named Chitlang in Makawanpur district. We woke up the following morning and hiked to Indra Sarobar, the largest water reservoir constructed by a Hydroelectricity project in Nepal. It was around 4 hours away from where we spent the night. So it was roughly eight/eight and half hours hike back and forth on that day. We hiked back to Kathmandu on the third day. I wore a pair of sandals on the first day, which made the hike relatively a lot easier. However, I had an excruciating time on the second day as I wore my elder brother’s leather shoes with a steel toe. Unfortunately, the shoes were too tight for me and hence extremely painful while walking downhill.

Leave a Reply

 
